Lifetime Achievement Award

The Honors Committee recognizes outstanding, long-time members who have made significant contributions to higher education risk management during their career. To honor these individuals, URMIA will bestow a "Larry V. Stephens Lifetime Achievement Award" onto select Institutional members.

  • Granting of these awards will be rare.
  • Nominations may be submitted by any URMIA member at any time.
  • The Honors Committee chair/co-chairs(s), in conjunction with the Executive Committee, will consider individual nominations as they arise.
  • Awards will be granted on an as-appropriate basis and presented during Annual Conferences.


The purpose of the “Larry V. Stephens Lifetime Achievement Award” is to honor Institutional members who have significantly contributed to higher education risk management and to URMIA.

Named to honor our first recipient in perpetuity, this award recognizes a lifetime of extraordinary achievement in higher education risk management, notable contributions to URMIA, and valued contributions to the risk management and insurance industry as a whole.

Selection Criteria

This award is meant for an Institutional member nearing the end of a full career of not less than 20 years during which service to higher education risk management and to URMIA are notable.

Such service should include:

  • Leadership roles within URMIA
  • Participation as a speaker in Annual and Regional URMIA conferences, and other strategic and educational partner conferences
  • Publication of articles and papers in support of professional development
  • Relevant issue advocacy
  • Evidence of mentorship of newer risk managers, service provider staff, and/or other industry professionals

Other attributes to consider:

  • Demonstration of positive attitude and good character
  • Respected by colleagues, employees, managers, and others in all levels of the organization
  • Exhibits enthusiasm for higher education risk management
  • Motivates others


Gary Langsdale, 2022 recipient of URMIA's Lifetime Achievement Award

2022 - Gary Langsdale, ARM, DRM


Larry V. Stephens, winner of URMIA's first Lifetime Achievement Award

2019 - Larry V. Stephens, AIC, ARM, CPCU, AAM, DRM