Emeritus Award


URMIA honors institutional members upon their retirement who have played a significant role in URMIA and higher education risk management as a profession. Those who are awarded this honor will be recognized at a luncheon during the upcoming Annual Conference. Their conference registration fee will be reduced, and they will be offered up to $500 to help cover travel and other conference costs. In addition, Emeritus Award winners receive a free lifetime URMIA membership.

Deadline 7/15 Annually

Nominate / Apply

Nominations received after July 15th will be considered for the following year.

Selection Criteria

  • Nominees are eligible upon retirement from a full-time higher education risk management position, and must be retired by the start of the Annual Conference. Specifically, nominees may not be employed in the field of risk management as a practitioner, consultant or service provider, nor may they be employed in another job in higher education.

  • Nominees must have provided exemplary service to URMIA. This may be demonstrated by service as a director or officer of URMIA, and/or by receipt of the Distinguished Risk Manager Award.
  • Nominees must have contributed significantly to higher education risk management as demonstrated by specific contributions to the understanding and practice of risk management.

URMIA's Emeritus Award Recipients

Emeritus Award Recipients

From Left: Larry V. Stephens (2019), Barbara Schatzer (2018), and Rich Freeman (2018). Not Shown: James Breeding (2019)