Distinguished Risk Manager Award


Each year, URMIA honors at least one Institutional member with the Distinguished Risk Manager (DRM) Award. It is a singularly high honor to receive this award, signifying the profound respect of one’s peers. Those who receive the award will be recognized during URMIA’s upcoming Annual Conference.

Deadline 7/15 Annually

Nominations received after July 15th will be considered for the following year.


Recipients of URMIA's Distinguished Risk Managers Award

2019 Distinguished Risk Manager Award Recipients

Sandy Mitchell and Samuel Florio

Selection Criteria

The Honors Committee relies upon members to call attention to individuals for consideration. Nominees must be employed by an institution with an URMIA membership in good standing. Other criteria include:

  • Long-term distinguished career as a risk manager
  • Professional accomplishments (e.g., ARM, CPCU, CLU, etc.)
  • Other awards and recognition nominee has received
  • Service to URMIA, RIMS, NACUBO, CPCU, CLU or similar organizations as a board officer or member, committee chair or active committee member, etc. Service as a mentor to others in management, risk management, higher education, insurance industry, or local community. Service as a teacher fostering risk management principles.
  • Contributions to the field of risk management demonstrated by the development of new techniques or approaches for addressing risk management issues and/or writing articles that shed new light on the practice of risk management
  • Leadership qualities demonstrated by having marshaled resources to address regular and/or unusual problems in the field of higher education risk management or risk management in general

The committee recognizes that individual accomplishments are unique; we will consider other accomplishments. We also understand that nominators may not have exact details or dates. URMIA staff will verify details.

Recipients of URMIA's Distinguished Risk Managers Award in 2018

2018 Distinguished Risk Manager Award Recipients

Kathy E. Hargis and Anita C. Ingram

Distinguished Risk Managers

George H. Meeker, ARM
Michael G. Klein
Benning F. Jenness
Truman G. Pope
Murray C. Edge, ARM, CSSD, WSO
Charles D. Emerson
Stanley Tarr, DHL
John Adams
Lee B. Stenquist