Annual Conference Scholarships

Application Period Is Closed

We are not accepting applications for Annual Conference scholarships at this time.

The application timeline for annual conference scholarships begins late spring and runs through early summer.

2021 Annual Conference Professional Scholarship Winners

2021 Professional Scholarship Recipients

From Left: Michael Kartje, University of Chicago; F. Joseph Mazur III, Seminole State College of Florida; David Parker, Pima Community College; Patricia Syquia McCarthy, Southern Oregon University. Not Pictured: Matt Roche, St. Thomas University; Eric Dahlen, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona; Susan Mendoza, Cal State, San Bernardino



The URMIA Annual Conference Scholarship Program provides valuable educational and networking opportunities for higher education risk management professionals who could not attend the 2022 URMIA Annual Conference in Indianapolis without financial support.


Support is also provided from the proceeds of the annual conference raffle. Thank you to those who donate items and purchase tickets!

"As a scholarship recipient, the award was like a ticket to the family reunion I'd never been to. "



These scholarships are intended for URMIA institutional members who have risk management responsibilities in the risk management office or in any related department at a member college or university.

At least one scholarship will be set aside to recognize those who have been traditionally underrepresented in the field of higher education risk management and who have demonstrated a dedication to personal growth and leadership through their commitments to education and/or work.

Furthermore, preference will be given to applicants who have not attended any URMIA annual or regional conference in person. URMIA peers serving on the Annual Conference Scholarship Task Force will select scholarship recipients.

"As a scholarship recipient, the award was like a ticket to the family reunion I'd never been to. "

Expectations for Recipients


Scholarship recipients will be encouraged to engage with a peer serving as an engagement ambassador and are expected to participate in the following events:

  • URMIA President's Reception on Saturday evening
  • Newcomers Welcome & Orientation session late Sunday afternoon
  • Opening Reception on Sunday evening
  • Lunch and general session on Tuesday


Scholarship recipients are expected to submit a testimonial in writing or on video within two weeks after the conference.

Use of Funds

Recipients of this year's scholarships may use the funds only to attend the 2022 URMIA Annual Conference in Indianapolis. Each recipient is expected to submit receipts for eligible expenses up to $2,000. Eligible expenses include the following and will be covered in this order:

  • The registration fee for the Full Conference Experience
  • A maximum of four nights at the conference hotel
  • Travel expenses to, from, and in the conference city
  • Other expenses (e.g., Meet & Greet meal, parking garage, etc.)

Reimbursements will be made in the order above. Receipts will be required. Please review URMIA's travel policy.


URMIA is grateful to sponsors for support that makes this opportunity possible.